Skip to main content

How to Find Articles: Using Library Databases

Database Introduction

Use a library database to find articles from newspapers, magazines and journalsas well as reference materials and multimedia content.

                                                  Research is the careful study that is done to find and report new knowledge about something. 

Citation Tools

Not sure how to cite the articles and resources you found in the databases?  Citing your sources correctly is the mark of a well-researched paper, and helps you avoid plagiarism.  Check our How to Cite page on the library website for a quick overview on citing, or you can go more in depth with our Citation Tools and Plagiarism Awareness research guide.

 

What are Databases?

What is a library database?

A library database is an electronic catalog, index, and digital warehouse for published materials. These materials most commonly include magazine, newspaper, and journal articles.  Often, other items such as books, videos, and audio files are included in certain databases as well. 

Databases are highly organized and allow students to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. Many databases at Clovis Community College provide access to full-text content, which means that you will find entire articles, not just summaries or citations of articles.

Why should I use a library database?

Databases contain information that is accurate, trusted, and reliable. Articles and resources in databases are written by experts in their field, and the information has been evaluated for accuracy before being published. Databases are able to provide scholarly, credible and peer-reviewed resources for use in class assignments and research projects. 

 

Why use a Library Database?

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Available 24/7, Ask a Librarian is a place to chat online with a librarian who can help you NOW.

If you have questions or need research assistance, visit the library at any time and talk to one of our knowledgeable librarians!  You can also contact the librarians at Clovis Community College via phone or email for additional reference help. 

Library Hours, Spring 2019 :
Monday-Thursday: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Sunday: Closed 

Summer Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Contact: 559-325-5215