Skip to main content

Film Resources: Websites

Film Critics

  • Online Film Critics Society
    A collection of notable film critics who post their reviews online. Admission to the society is regulated to ensure the quality of content produced by the body.
  • Roger Ebert's Choice Blogs
    A selection of film criticism blogs hosted on Roger Ebert's personal website. The blogs cover a broad range of current issues and developments in cinema and showcase a diverse group of critics.
  • The New Yorker: Richard Brody
    In "The Front Row," film critic Richard Brody discusses current and past trends in cinema culture as well as posts reviews for select recent releases.
  • Jonathan Rosenbaum
    A digital archive of the reviews spanning from the 1960s to present day written by Jonathan Rosenbaum, a prominent film critic who wrote for the "Chicago Reader."

Online Resources

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
An online database of information related to movies, television shows, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media. Can be searched by actor, director, country, character name, etc. (Advanced search is available – click “more” and then “power search”). It includes links to online published reviews and also features reviews submitted by users.

AllMovie
A comprehensive database including basic product information, cast and production credits, plot synopsis, professional reviews, biographies, relational links, and more.
Filmsite
Website dedicated to the study of film that is built around the idea of listing the 100 greatest films of all time with interpretive, descriptive review commentary and background history. Includes reference material including Academy Awards history, film genres, film terms, film history by decade, and trivia.
Senses of Cinema
An online journal from Australia that is devoted to the serious discussion of cinema. It includes critical evaluations of dozens of directors, film annotations, scholarly essays, top ten lists, and archived articles back to 2000.
Metacritic
Assembles about thirty reviews per movie from publications around the U.S., with links to the full reviews and gives each film an average rating based on the reviews. Attempts to include every new release, including limited releases and films that appear at film festivals and are reviewed in at least three publications.
UCLA Film and Television Archive
A unique resource for media study, the Archive constitutes one of the largest collections of media materials in the United States - second only to the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. - and the largest of any university in the world. Its vaults hold more than 220,000 motion picture and television titles and 27 million feet of newsreel footage. The combined collections represent an all-encompassing documentation of the 20th century.
Wisconsin Center for Film & Theatre Research
"It may come as a surprise to learn that Madison, Wisconsin, far from the bright lights of Hollywood and New York, is the home of the one of the largest and most significant collections of media history in the world."

Filmmakers

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers

A four volume work with the following sections:
Each volume includes entries with lengthy expository essays, filmographies, bibliographies, and biographies for the entries about people. Broadly international in its coverage.

Statistics

International Film

General information about international/foreign films from a variety of regions.


World Wide Box Office
Provides data about the highest grossing films around the world in US dollars.

Europeana‚Äč
A database of digital resources from European museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections. Includes resources of film and film clips.

British Film Institute

World reknowed archive from the BFI.

FilmPortal- German
Lists information for thousands of German films, including news, pictures, and film clips. Site may be translated to English by selecting the icon in the top right corner.

Bollywood Movie Database

A database collecting over 5000 Bollywood films. The site is searchable and features filmographies and actor profiles.