Skip to main content

Health Resources: Websites

Government Agencies

AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, a Federal agency. Its mission is to improve the quality of healthcare and promote evidence-based decision making. Includes a collection of Evidence Reports​.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)  Founded in 1946 as part of the United States Public Health Service, the Communicable Disease Center (CDC) first used a building from the defunct Office of Malaria Control in War Areas in Atlanta, Georgia.

Department of Health & Human Services (HHS)  Federal executive department charged with administering government health programs.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) An agency established to safeguard the environment.

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) A U.S. federal agency with responsibility for improving health care access for people who are uninsured, isolated, or medically vulnerable.

National Institutes of Health (NIH)  From the The Columbia Encyclopedia: Agency of the U.S. Public Health Service, with headquarters in Bethesda, Md. It was established initially in 1887 as a laboratory in the U.S. Marine Hospital on Staten Island in New York City, and was given its present name in 1948.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)  A federal agency of the Department of Labor established by Congress in 1970 to maintain safe conditions in the workplace.

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Federal executive department established in 1862, whose head was made a cabinet member in 1889. The department administers federal programs related to food production and rural life.

Evaluating Health Websites

For tips on evaluating health information you find online, check out:

MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing

MedlinePlus: Online Health Information - What Can You Trust?

Medline Plus

Free Databases and Credible Health Websites

     MedlinePlus

A reliable US government website by the US National Library of Medicine and The National Institute of Health. Provides overviews, credible web resources, and current research on diseases and other health topics. 

 

   PubMed

Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health, PubMed includes over 24 million citations and some full-text content for biomedical literature. 

 

    Mayo Clinic

The Mayo Clinic provides credible information on a number of health topics. 

 

 American Heart Association
Information on CPR and heart health from the American Heart Association.