Skip to main content

LGBTQ Resources: EBooks

EBook Collections

Search Tips







Tips for Locating Books and eBooks

  • Use the library catalog to search for books and eBooks; Overdrive and Salem Press eBook collections can only be accessed through the database page.
  • Try the catalog's advanced search. Search for words or terms in any field, titles, subjects, or authors; then, limit the "material type" to only books (it will include both print books and eBooks) and publication dates quickly and easily.
  • Need more help with the catalog? Check out our OneSearch Reseach Guide.

Search Terms

The following terms related to the concept "LGBTQ" and may help you in your search for library resources like books as well as articles in our databases. They are terms currently in use by the Library of Congress to describe the subject matter of library resources.

Some terms contain an asterisk (*) at the end: this symbol will let you to search the root of a word, including all of the available endings for that word. For example, lesbian* would also search for lesbianism and lesbians

  • androgyn*
  • bisexual*
  • gay*
  • gay and lesbian studies
  • gay couples
  • gay rights
  • gender identity
  • gender nonconformity
  • homophob*
  • homosexual*
  • intersex*
  • lesbian*
  • LGBT*
  • queer*
  • same sex marriage
  • sex role
  • transsex*
  • transgender*

EBook FAQ

undefined
Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

What are eBooks?
EBooks are just like the print books you'd find on the library shelves, except they are available completely online for our students and staff to read. 

What kind of eBooks are available?
Most eBooks consist of non-fiction, research-worthy titles; our new Overdrive eBook collection is a mixture of fiction and non-fiction titles for your reading enjoyment, some of which are novels often required for a number of courses.

Where can I find eBooks?
Ebook collections are available from the library's database page and most eBooks may be searched for using the OneSearch catalog. Two collections are only available from the database page; Overdrive eBooks and Salem Press eBooks

How long can I check them out?
One of the best things about the majority of our eBooks is that they do not need to be checked out, so they will have no due date; simply read an eBook in a browser window, anywhere you have Internet access. Overdrive eBooks do work best when read using an app, but they may be read in your browser. Overdrive eBooks will have an "due date" that indicates when the eBook will be automatically "turned in" (renewal options may be available).

Can I read an eBook if I'm off campus?
Yes! If you are off campus, reading an eBook or checking out Overdrive eBooks will require logging in with SCCCD credentials. Use your Canvas/school email username and password to log in.