Skip to main content

LGBTQ Resources: Websites

Pride Month

Global Pride 2020 Los Angeles Pride Virtual Events 2020 San Francisco Virtual Pride 2020

In New York City on June 29, 1969, a police raid of the Stonewall Inn, a popular gay bar in the Greenwich Village neighborhood, turned violent. For several days, activists joined together outside of the Stonewall Inn to protest the police actions and rallied for the rights of the gay community. It has become known as the event which started the international LGBTQ rights movement. Pride Month, nationally recognized and celebrated in June, is a commemoration of the historic event.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting: Stonewall Uprising Collection 

The Library of Congress: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month

  • History of the events held in June in honor of the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in New York City. Includes an ample "Resources" page with information sources and primary source materials.

Stonewall Inn Photo

"Stonewall Inn, April 2019" by Antigng, used under CC BY-SA
Cropped from original

General Resources

The Advocate

  • LGBT magazine that has published news and commentary of interest to the community since 1967.

MyPronouns.org

  • Provides guidance and information on the use of personal pronouns.

UCLA School of Law: The Williams Institute

  • Public policy research institution that focuses on issues that impact the LGBT community and publicizes its data.

University of Wisconsin-Milwalkee: Gender Pronouns

  • Additional personal gender pronouns guide from the UWM's LGBTQ+ Resource Center.

History

Digital Transgender Archive

  • Provides access to worldwide transgender historical materials, primarily pre-2000s, in over a dozen categories with convenient ways to browse the extensive collection.

GLBT Historical Society Museum & Archives

  • Located in San Francisco's Castro district, the museum—the first of its kind in the United States—offers over two dozen audiovisual and ephemeral collections online.

Support

ACLU: LGBT Rights

  • Area of the American Civil Liberties Union pertaining to the rights of LGBT people and the issues they face.

Family Acceptance Project

  • San Francisco State University's "research, education and training program that helps families to support their LGBTQ children."

GLAAD

  • Organization dedicated to ending discrimination against LGBT persons in the media and promote inclusiveness.

Human Rights Campaign

  • A national LGBTQ civil rights organization.

Human Rights Watch: LGBT Rights

  • Organization that reports worldwide human rights issues and news.

It Gets Better

  • Offers connections to the worldwide LGBTQ+ community.

Lambda Legal

  • National nonprofit which provides no cost legal representation to the LGBT community and to those living with HIV.

Modern Military Association

  • Non-profit organization providing services and support to the LGBTQ military and veteran community.

National LGBT Task Force

  • Group dedicated to mobilizing individuals to remove the barriers which LGBT persons face in their daily lives.

Health

CDC: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health

  • The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is a national resource that provides guidelines to state public health institutions and hospitals for local administration. This site helps provide information and resources on important health issues that affect the LGBT communities.

Medline Plus: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Health

  • A reliable U.S. government website providing overviews, credible web resources, and current research on diseases. This site presents information about specific health issues affecting gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals.

National Coalition for LGBT Health

  • "Committed to improving the health and well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals through federal and local advocacy, education, and research."

PleasePrEPme.org

  • A program that connects individuals at risk for contracting HIV to medical providers that provide pre-exposure prophylaxis, or PrEP, which has been shown to reduce the risk of contracting HIV by nearly 99% when taken regularly.

World Professional Association for Transgender Health

  • Nonprofit professional and educational organization that focuses on transgender health with resources for health care professionals and individuals, including a medical provider search tool.

Come Out, Come Out, Whoever You Are

Ferne Sales & Meg Co., Inc. "Come Out, Come Out, Whoever You Are Pin."
Physical Object. From the Digital Transgender Archive