Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library Resources: Find Books

Guide to online library resources. Created to help students while Clovis Community College transitions to alternative modalities of instruction in response to COVID19

Textbook Scan Requests

The Clovis Community College Library is offering a Reserve Textbook Scanning Program in an effort to provide reserve textbook access while campus is closed due to COVID-19. The library can email students up to two chapters from any book per semester. For full program details and to make a request, you can go to the Reserve Textbook Scanning Program form.

Library To Go

With Library To Go, our students, faculty, and staff can now request books from the general collection, DVDs, and CD audiobooks!

Use OneSearch to browse library items. Sign in to make a request (instructions are on this guide page) and provide a phone number in the request comments. Staff will then pull the item from the shelves and contact you to make an appointment for a curbside delivery. Curbside is available two days a week, Mondays and Thursdays, from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

Please contact us if you have any questions about this service.

Your Library Account


All current students and staff will have an active library account. Signing in lets you save and organize your favorite items (try the "Add This Item" pushpins), check what items you have out, and renew items.

1. On the OneSearch page, click on "Sign In" at the top right of the page.

sign in screenshot

2. If you are presented with a dialog box, click on the "OneSearch Login" link.

onesearch login screenshot

3. The next screen is the SCCCD log in screen, which you should be familiar with to log in to Canvas and school email. Enter your ID number and Canvas/school email password to continue.

4. You are now logged in and will be directed back to the catalog; your name will appear in the top right hand corner. Click on your name and a menu will appear with library account-related tasks:

  • Get an overview of your account (Library Account)
  • Review items you have out and renew items (My Loans)
  • Check on items you've requested from other SCCCD libraries (My Requests)

What Are EBooks?

ebook icon

What are eBooks?
EBooks are just like the print books you'd find on the library shelves, except they are available completely online for our students and staff to read. 

What kind of eBooks are available?
Most eBooks consist of non-fiction, research-worthy titles; our new Overdrive eBook collection is a mixture of fiction and non-fiction titles for your reading enjoyment.

Where can I find eBooks?
Ebook collections are available from the library's database page and most titles may be found using the OneSearch catalog. Two collections are only available from the database page; Overdrive eBooks and Salem Press eBooks

How long can I check them out?
One of the best things about the majority of our eBooks is that they do not need to be checked out, so they will have no due date; simply read an eBook in a browser window, anywhere you have Internet access. Overdrive eBooks do work best when read using an app, but may be read in your browser; Overdrive eBooks do, however, have an automatic "due date" where the eBook will be "turned in" (renewal options may be available).

Can I read an eBook if I'm off campus?
Yes! If you are off campus, reading an eBook or checking out Overdrive eBooks will require logging in with SCCCD credentials. Use your Canvas/school email username and password to log in.

Search for Books





eBooks, Online Audio Books, and Online Magazines

EBSCO eBooks

Provides a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter- from business and science, to engineering and humanities.
Proquest Ebook Central
A collection of 25,000 full-text eBooks spanning multiple subject areas including fiction, non-fiction, and reference titles.
Salem Press

A collection of Salem Press reference works including literary analyses of authors and their works as well as resources on health, history , and careers.
OverDrive

A growing digital collection of audiobooks and eBooks that includes course-related and popular fiction and non-fiction books. Listen or read through your browser or download the OverDrive app on your mobile device.
flipster logo

Instant access to the magazines you know and love in an easy-to-read digital format. Download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.

Finding Ebooks Using the Library Catalog

The following instructions will help you search for many of our eBooks using our library catalog.

***At this time, eBooks from Overdrive are not available from the catalog; they can be accessed through the database page.


1. Go to the CCC OneSearch library catalog; enter your search terms in the search box here and make sure you select the "CCC Library Catalog" category in the dropdown menu.

catalog screenshot

2. Click on "Available Online" in the "Filter your Results" area on the left side of your search results page.

filter screenshot

3. You will then need to select "Books" in this same filter area, under "Format."

books filter screenshot

4. Your search results will now give you only eBook results. Once you find an item of interest in your search results, click the "Available Online" link that corresponds to the item.

online link screenshot

5. You are then taken to the "View Online" portion of the item record where you can then click on the link to the eBook. Sometimes more than one link will be provided; it means that multiple eBook vendors offer this title, and you may choose any link you prefer. For off campus access, you will be asked to sign in to read the eBook; sign in like you would to Canvas.

ebook link screenshot

6. You will then be redirected to the details/record page for that eBook. Check for links that read "Read Online" or "View PDF" to begin reading your eBook.