Skip to main content

World History and Western Civilization: Databases

Journal Articles

Use the library's academic databases to find articles from scholarly and history journals. Full-text titles include academic history journals such as History Today, History Review, History, Central European History, Journal of Military History, German History, French Historical Studies, and many more. Choose the academic, scholarly and peer reviewed limiters when appropriate. When accessing the databases remotely, you will be prompted to log in and enter your student ID number for the username and your Blackboard/email password.

Try these search tips for database research!

EBSCOhost

 

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. 

  • Type a broad keyword or phrase into the search box.
    For example: Mummification in Ancient Egypt or Carthage

 

JSTOR

 

JSTOR
A collection of full-text articles from over 380 selected academic journals in Arts, Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. 

  • Type a keyword into the search bar. To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered try enclosing the phrase in quotation marks.
    For example: If your topic is Medieval Hygiene and Medicine, try searching for "history of" medicine.

Video Streaming

Films on Demand

A streaming video database with access to over 11,000 closed captioned videos on a wide range of topics including history and western civilization. From the research database page scroll down and click on "Films on Demand" to log in. 

 

Databases

Visit these databases for biographies, topical pages, statistics, country data and more! 

Biography in Context
Biographies of people - both current and historic - from respected reference sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals, and links to recommended sites. 

 

 Encyclopedia Britannica
The complete academic encyclopedia, including a number of articles featuring historical figures, events, movements, and systems. 

 

CountryWatch
A current and comprehensive source of socio-demographic, cultural, historical, economic, political, environmental and investment information, along with news, analysis, maps, data and statistics on all of the world’s 192 countries and many non-sovereign nations.